Those old States Rights keep popping up


While watching my regular news shows last night, I was once again reminded of how some states want to take rights that belong to the Federal Government, if we are to be a United States of America.

So:

Why do the Rses think States should have more and more say about laws?  If medical marijuana is legal in one state, it should be legal in all states.  If gay marriage is legal in one state, it should be legal in all states.  We are supposed to be the UNITED States of America.  If this is not true, then we should be a continent with 50 different countries with 50 different governments, and not one country with a government to help all.

We really need to unite ourselves for the good of all, and all laws for all states should be the same.  Every citizen should have the right to vote for what is good for the country we all belong to, and then everybody abide by the majority of the vote.  No-one has to smoke marijuana if they don’t want to, I don’t want to make it a recreational drug, but it has been shown to help those who are ill, or in pain, or nauseated from the things they do to get rid of cancer.  The law would not say everybody has to use it. A law for making gay marriage legal does not mean you have to be gay, or marry a gay person, but why can’t it be available for those who do believe that way.  Why do the “nos” think everybody should have to think like them?

Individual state capitals should be simply overseeing that states are abiding by the US Constitution, which does give States some autonomy, but the autonomy should limit itself to economical, educational, and health care matters, and keeping its own state citizens in good shape.

We should all have the freedom to move from one area to another, and know we have the same rights wherever we live – we should not have to find out if we are breaking a law before we move elsewhere.  UNITED still means “as one” – the motto is still “e pluribus unum” – “from one, all.

Buy hey, if you disagree, let’s just split the country in half, down the Mississippi, make the  conservative states of America and the liberal states of America.  That won’t have to make everyone think the same exact thing all the time, or become zombies.  Hell, my particular radical liberal beliefs wouldn’t be good for the country, and I know it.  But I would find it one hell of a lot easier to work with people who think along the same lines as I do, to compromise, which I would have to do.  I suppose each of the two countries would then have two separate capitals – or maybe the liberals would have a capital, a central government, that could tax us until we can get everyone situated with a decent life – somewhere to live, food to eat, education, and health care.  The conservatives can do what they like – everyone for him/herself.  That’s what they want anyway.

Funny thing:  I have never changed my way of seeing things – compassion, caring, tolerance of everyone, living together in peace.  Unfortunately, in order to not have to change my personal beliefs of love and peace, I have had to change my political party.  Who woulda thought that today I call myself by a different label than I did 50 or 60 years ago, just to stay the same kind of person I am.

Carol Stepp, Austin

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Medicine, personal thoughts, Politics, Religious, States Rights, Voting Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

