Some thoughts from the days between conventions, from news programs


In a visit to flooded areas of Louisiana (the town of Jean Lafitte in Plaqmines Parish), Mitt Romney told Jodie Chiarello, whose home was destroyed by the flood, that “there is assistance out there” and to go home and call 211″, a local public service number.  Go home?  What home?  Call how?  Does he assume she had a cell phone on her?  I admit I heard Rev. Al mention this on his show yesterday, so he beat me to it, but I had it all written in my notes to speak about.

At a public briefing for top GOP donors, Karl Rove joked about killing Rep. Todd Akin of Missouri.  Rove said “we should sink Akin.  If he’s found mysteriously murdered, don’t look for my whereabouts!”  This was reported by Sheelah Kolharker from Bloomberg, who was intied to the event by a “significant Republican donor”.  Akin spokesman Rick Tyler said “I’m sure Karl misspoke, but we forgive him.”

From Ernie Pyle, August 1944, in one of his newspaper columns while covering WW II:  “We rise above our normal powers only in times of destruction” and “We did not win it (WWII) because destiny created us better than all other peoples.”  (I’ve been reading some history books from the library.)

Bain Capital is being investigated by a New York court for tax evasion (along with several other holding companies).  Maybe that is why Romney won’t share his tax returns with us.

Desmond Tutu is calling for Tony Blair and George W. Bush to stand trial in The Hague for the war in Iraq.

If the labor unions get out and fight for their interests, Obama will carry the swing states, like Nevada, with a heavy union presence.  Texas is not a union state – I’m still hoping for the women and minorities to take Texas back into it’s old blue status.

No Constitutional Amendments having to do with marriage or fetuses should ever be ratified.  These items are not fodder for a country’s Constitution.  Leave the Constitution to address only citizenship and rights of citizens within the legal definition.  The Constitution should only guarantee equal rights to all citizens living in the country – but not in personal choices or styles of living those lives.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Finance, personal thoughts, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some thoughts from the days between conventions, from news programs

  1. gratis sex says:

    I like this website very much. I’m a follower of your blog and wanna say thanks for all this interesting stuff on it. Please take a look at my website also??? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

