First night of the DNC


Montana Democrat Governor, can he make Montana a swing state?  I’ll be watching that.  Also enjoyed watching the ex-Governor of New Mexico Bill Richardson in several interviews yesterday, and really enjoyed them, but I already have chosen New Mexico for Obama, so he didn’t change my mind on anything.  Richardson was my first choice for president in 2008, with Obama as his VP, but of course, Richardson dropped out early, and I moved my allegiance to Obama.

Joe Kennedy III (Bobby’s son) introduced the film about his Uncle Teddy, which brought back so many memories.  I never got to vote for a Kennedy.  I was too young when Jack ran and won; I was going to vote for Bobby, but he was assassinated, and since then, I have not ever lived in Massachusetts in order to vote for other Kennedys.  I sure hope they remain in politics.  As Teddy once said to Romney, in a debate for Senate, “Kennedys are not in politics for money.  We’ve paid a high price, and we run for the people, not for the money”.  (that is probably not exact, but it is close.)

Tammy Duckworth, running against Joe Walsh in Illinois, a double-amputee because her Black Hawk was shot down in Iraq, works for the VFW, spoke about Obama as CnC.  America’s daughters as well as sons (she got three standing ovations, including one from Joe Biden).  She drew chants from the delegates about USA and Obama.

A young woman from Aurora, CO, a once Republican party member, switched to the Democratic party over women’s rights.  She spoke at the DNC over her family’s objections (well, I understand over family’s objections, since that is exactly what I faced when I switched parties).

Michael Dukakis called Romney a disaster for the economy in Massachusetts while governor.  He left with low % rate, to run for President in 2008, then was passed over for VP by McCain.

CNN interviewed Alfre Woodard, Tim Daley, and John Leguizamo, who are at the convention on behalf of the Coalition of Arts.

Rahm Emanuel spoke about Obama as a “once-in-a-generation” president, talking of the many financial crises they faced together when Obama took office.  He said every night Obama would read ten letters from US citizens, and in discussions, would read one of the letters and tell his advisors that these are who we fight for.  He said that when Obama wanted to help out GM and the auto companies, he got a lot of nay-sayers, and he stood his ground, alone, and got what he wanted.  I did not know myself how much opposition he faced, and that makes his getting the bailout for the auto industry even better in my opinion.

Lots of talk about ACA – Obamacare (Obama:  they can call it that because I do care), including one Stacey Lihn whose daughter was born with a defective heart, and who had been warned, after two operations, that the insurance cap was getting close, and there might not be enough to pay for a further operation.  Then when the ACA was passed, the insurance company wrote to tell her that was no longer a cap.  She spoke last night about the relief her family felt, but that they are still filled with some terror that Romney might get elected, and all that will be taken from her.  She was just one of many who talked about how if Romney got elected, he would immediately cancel the ACA, and replace it with a plan of his own.  Well, what will it be?  RomneyCare, the same damn plan?

There were just so many wonderful speeches last night, it would take pages for me to write comments about them all.  If you didn’t watch the coverage, I recommend looking up the speeches from DeVal Patrick, Lilly Ledbetter, (there was a funny tweet calling for Patrick/Ledbetter 2016), Martin O’Malley, Kathleen Sibelius, Ted Strickland, and of course, Julian Castro, the keynote speaker, Mayor of San Antonio, TX, and Michelle Obama.  Each one was better than the last, and the enthusiasm at the convention is very high.  No sitting on hands there.

As I wrote on my FaceBook page yesterday:  Being a Democrat is more fun.  Well, yes, that is because we don’t spend our time looking for people to condemn for some “sin” or other, and we accept everyone, no matter their race, creed, or sexual orientation, and we care about everyone and we have a good time.  We are not on the prowl for something to whine about.

Man, I love politics.  Sometimes I forget how much until I get involved as I did back in 2004 (Howard Dean) and 2008 and 2012.  I remember doing things for the elder Bush assorted campaigns back as far as 1966, but I never had the fun then as I am having now.

I want to mention Kal Penn (Harold and Kumar) as a speaker last night.  He served for two years as liaison to young people for Obama, and she spoke about the Dream Act.  He is among those volunteering to register new voters, especially among the younger generation, and he ended his speech with a comment:  A Senator just before him could not utter any four-letter words, but he could.  That word was VOTE.

I noticed that there were quite a few Sikhs in the audience.  I thought that was quite interesting, especially in view of the shooting at the Sikh Temple in Wisconsin a few weeks ago.  They are willing to stand up and be counted, even while knowing there are idiots who think they are Muslims.  And target them.

A military mom, non-political, was chosen to introduce Michelle Obama.  She was chosen because she wrote a letter to Michelle, telling about her five children, four of whom represent the Army, Air Force, Navy, and Marines, “and yes, we are hoping our last child, who is still in high school, will consider the Coast Guard”, and got an invitation to visit the White House.  Her name is Elaine Brye.

Among the many things Michelle had to say about her husband, Barack, one that stuck out for me was “To Barack, there is no “us and them”.  We are all Americans.”  Barack never lets the noice bother him.  He just gets up and keeps moving forward with dignity.  She said get to the polls on election day and cast your vote (a nod to those trying to make it difficult for some to vote).  She quoted MLK’s “get to the mountaintop”.  And finally said “at the end of the day, I’m still mom-in-chief.

One funny comment from her:  an implied insult?  – When we were dating, one time when Obama picked me up, he was thrilled to tell her about a coffee table he found in a dumpster.  (Perhaps a comment on Mitt’s eating dinner off an ironing board?)

Ted Strickland also made a funny comment:  “If Romney were Santa Claus, he’d fire the reindeer and outsource the elves”.

One comment regarding the health care benefits in the aftermath of discussion:  When one person spoke of ACA as an entitlement, Ed Schultz spoke back:  ObamaCare is an earned benefit, not an entitlement.  People have paid for it.

Back with more after tonight and tomorrow.  Clinton one among many tonight (I’ll have to tape Royal Pains, but it reruns at 11 anyway), and he is going to make the nomination of Barack Obama for President.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Politics, Voting Rights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First night of the DNC

  1. Ruth says:

    Fantastic blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?

    I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get comments from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Bless you!

    • carolstepp says:

      The best I can tell you is to contact your local Democratic party to see if they know of any discussion groups. Otherwise, there are all sorts of discussion groups on Facebook and on Yahoogroups. Good luck. My own FB page has a lot of political discussion, but not any specific groups. I am on FB as carol stepp.

Leave a Reply

