Take my country back


I have noticed that one of the things repubs say a lot, including in some tweets last night at the RNC, that they want to “take my country back”.  What exactly does that mean?

Do you mean that I am not allowed to call the US my country because I don’t believe in the same selfish things you do?  Do you mean the US cannot be my country because I may not be a christian?  Do you mean this cannot be my country if I believe in free choice?  Or how about if I have no pr0blem with other religions, or spiritual values?

Is this not my country because I’m not in the top 2% of wealthy citizens?  Or because I get $16 a month in food stamps I’m not allowed to call this my country.

If I ever saw a reason to consider this is no longer the UNITED States of America, this would be it.  The words “take my country back” in the case of last night was from officials from two of the Southern/Bible Belt states.  So what can I think?  You seceded because you didn’t want to lose your black slaves.  When you lost the war, you tried en masse to get England to recognize you eleven states as a separate country so you would not have to live under the United States Constitution.  You are trying to keep people from voting in Florida and Texas (also Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, and Ohio) because you know that is the only way Mitt Romney is going to win in November.  Above all, you don’t like seeing a black man, who came up from poverty, by his own boot strings, to become President – and one of you is a black woman.  So it can’t be racism, can it?  Probably just jealousy and envy because he made it without money, or a big political family name.  That tells me that people like you two will never be more than you are.

You eleven states were only allowed back in the Union by ratifying amendments – Tennessee actually got back in first just by ratifying the Civil Rights Act.  South Carolina, North Carolina, Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Louisiana, and Arkansas got back in by ratifying the 14th Amendment.  Texas, Mississippi, and Virgina finally got back in in 1870, when they ratified the 15th Amendment.

As for you, Nikki Haley, and you, Rick Scott, and you, Pennsylvania Lt. Governor, you need to read article II of the Confederacy Papers, as well as Article II, and Amendments 14, 15, 19, and 27, and some cases heard by the Supreme Court to understand what States Rights really are.  You do not have the right to stop people from voting, by any means whatsover.  One case history was over South Carolina trying to stop some people from voting by using different devices (1966) in which the Supreme Court laid out that once someone has a voter’s registration card, AND has voted in any previous federal and/or state elections, they cannot be denied their right to vote.

So quit your belly aching, and face what is truth (I think liars are the lowest form of life, lower than dirt), and understand that this is not just YOUR country, that at present you are helping keep us a non-united States of America, and let us be UNITED once again.

Otherwise, perhaps we should consider calling America a continent, and each state become a country in itself – I will personally grandfather all the roads and bridges that are already built to you, but you will have to have a passport to come next door, to my country.  Ah, but you really don’t want to give up all your US government help, do you?  Although before Isaac hit, President Obama has already declared Mississippi and Louisiana eligible for emergency funding to rebuild.  Know what?  That was not enough for Bobby Jindal, one of your tea partier types, who declared that he though Obama should pay for ALL of the expenses for keeping Louisiana safe.

Think about it.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Politics, Religious, States Rights and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

