Why Obama should not be elected????


I was not going to come back today because I need to get cooled off, and my blood pressure is too high. But I just have to say something to all those folks who claim Obama has done nothing for four years, or at least they didn’t like what he had done. Since he has been in office just less than four years, I suppose that means that some of the people who are blaming him for some of the stuff are giving him credit for some of what GWB did.

Now I’ll admit I think he tried a bit too hard to get bipartisanship the first two years, and it cost him the House during the mid-terms. I wish he hadn’t done that. And I admit that he added a bit to the deficit, but that was because he had to start with a really big deficit from GWB, and anything he spent at all would have added to it. But you cannot make money without spending money.

And I’ll agree that most white men, and possibly a few white women, didn’t want a man who did not come from either money, or a famous political family. I mean, how dare he think any American could actually become President. Bad, bad thinking.

And I admit that he should have left the name RomneyCare on the health care bill he passed because, after all, how dare he get his own name put on it.

So let’s see just exactly what Barack has done for this country: he got bin Laden, and a few other top al Qaeda chiefs, he got us out of Iraq (but not out of Afghanistan yet); he did not get Guantanamo shut down (well, a just-say-no House, who would rather see America fail than give Obama another term might have had something to do with that); he did serve over an economy that private industry added 4,000,000 jobs over the past three years, after a short bumpy couple of months that was still trying to recover from the GWB presidency; he got a small jobs bill put through because the people wanted to get an infrastructure bill that would put electrical lines underground; he stopped the interest on college loans from doubling. Yes, I can see how a white man in the presidency would be better. They are the wealthy, after all, and I suppose those who suffer under the wealthy really don’t want to have to get off their butts and try to make things better for themselves. Thus I can see how some of you would rather see children and the ill and disabled should be refused insurance; I can see how you would rather I didn’t get my Medicare, even though I am over 65 and cannot get a job because of age discrimination – so you will be happier when we are put on a voucher system; and oh yes, let’s get that social security privatized. That way you won’t have to pay out for it in your paychecks.

So yeah, let’s get rid of Barack Obama, the man with the funny name, and the dark colouring, the man who proved anyone can succeed, the christian that no-one wants to admit to, the one that passed the insurance that used to have another man’s name on it, but which they don’t like the sound of now.

Well, it is a pity, but I believe that Barack Obama will win a second term, and the minority of you who don’t like him for one made-up reason or another, rather than face your real reasons, will just have to continue to suffer under his leadership.

Posting this to my blog.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Medicine, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

