Aurora, CO


I watched the news about this massacre on Friday, and part of Saturday, until I just was not feeling any emotion any longer.  I was drained by then.

I think this is horrifying.  But what I think more horrifying than even the senseless murder of so many people, and the injuries to so many more, is that while everyone is jumping around talking about gun control again, by the end of this week, everyone will stop talking about it and will stop trying to do anything about it, and it will all go away until the next time it happens.  It always happens.

Also, way too many people will remember the murderers name, but will forget the name of all the rest.  The only people who actually ever remember the victims’ names are people who know them or who know a member of the family who sustained the loss.  We have become so inured to things like this.

I particularly appreciated Melissa Harris-Perry on MSNBC who gave us the stats of murders that happened in other places, single and/or multiple shootings because of gangs, or just plain arguments.  It reminded me of the storyline in The West Wing when the President’s group got shot at, and C. J., in her news briefing, did the same thing – spoke about other people who were killed in other shootings around the nation.  But we never pay attention because we don’t get it listed in our newspapers, or big announcements on FaceBook, or anywhere that these things happen.  We just bury our heads in the sand and don’t pay attention.  Unless it hits close to us.

What is going to have to happen?  Some Congressman who gets a lot of money from the NRA who loses a member of his/her family?  But even that wouldn’t work unless it happened to several of these Congresspersons at the same time.  Because after Gabby Giffords, we all just eventually went back to our daily lives after a week or two.  How many of you remember the name of the young girl who got killed that day?  I don’t – I would have to look it up.

I am no better than most of you – it goes away, simply because I don’t feel like I have enough power to actually do something about it, other than write this blog.  I am perhaps too comfortable in my government housing, outside of a bad neighborhood (although I don’t live in paradise where I am), and with pretty good security in my housing development.  The best I can do, at this point, is sign every petition that comes along for any cause I feel this passionate about.  But until there are enough of us willing to do the same thing in tandem, those people who provide guns, and keep the laws from getting too strict over the number of assault weapons, the NRA and money people are going to keep us in their thrall.

As for the young man who did the killing this time around, there didn’t seem to be much in his life that would cause folks to look at him crosswise, until something happened this last spring to send him off the deep end.  I wasn’t there, but I don’t wonder at people around him not noticing anything different, or if they did, did not tell anyone about it.  We are all so tied up in our own lives that we don’t want to muddy any waters anywhere, and so we let it pass, until it is brought to our notice.

I need to find a complete list of those who died and post it somewhere – probably on my FB page, but I very likely will come back and post it here as well.  On FB, anything written on one’s wall just sort of disappears after a while, and we don’t care enough to keep up with the item ourselves.

This is a sad commentary on our society today.  Including me.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Crime, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

