Watchwords to watch for (and a couple of other comments)


Be careful.  New words and phrases are being added daily to republicans talking points.

Retroactive.  Hey, if Romney gave back the money he earned from Bain Capital from 1999 through 2004, then I might believe he actually retired “retroactively”.

Romney uses “I saved the Olympics (of 2004, in Salt Lake City)” as a selling point of his abilities.  But how many of you know he also used those Olympics to tout products and companies he was involved in through Bain Capital – like trying to get Staples the office supplies concession.  Unfortunately, Office Depot had that concession and wouldn’t let it go.

But if he can retire “retroactively”, maybe we can all regain our virginity “retroactively” and go back to being naive about how life really works.  Just remember that “retroactively” does not wipe out our memories.

And another one being used now is “flow-through businesses”.  That is being used as a way to say that taxing the rich, the “job-creators”, is bad.  All it really means is that if the corporation doesn’t have to pay more taxes, the money will just “go back into the business, an investment into the business’s own interest”, and hiring new employees.

Let me tell you something, folks, if the largest corporations keeps most of their money, they are not going to give it to you.  They might hire 2  or 3 of you, but they are not going to pay you anywhere near what you might be worth.  Big corporations are more interested in staying big, and keeping us small.  They don’t want you to have what they have.

Frankly, I think most “big business” wants to get rid of all of the little people – except, of course, those who do the actual work in whatever business you are talking about, from waiters to lawn caretakers to clerks in the stores to yes, secretaries (or admin assts as we are royally called) – I guarantee very few presidents do their own typing, and they certainly don’t answer their own phones.

Hey, don’t believe “it’s not personal, it’s just business”.  That is a line out of The Godfather, the way the Mafia works, and I assure you, it is always personal, especially when it comes to holding on to money.

As for that fat sexist racist drug-taking ex-con college-dropout of a radio host (Rush Limbaugh) to tell Mitt Romney to go after Obama for using a little pot in college, or for being lazy in law school, that is probably the most hypocritical thing I’ve heard out of Rush’s mouth, and I’ve heard some hypocrisy.

Also, the Obama ad with Mitt singing American the Beautiful while his records of outsourcing and outshoring is the best political ad I have ever seen.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Finance, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Watchwords to watch for (and a couple of other comments)

  1. Daisi says:

    thanks for presenting your ideas and thoughts to us.http://www.acertemail.com

    • carolstepp says:

      You are welcome, if this is a real posting, and not spam. I get so much spam from folks trying to sell me something, but I always appreciate a genuine comment to something I write. Carol

  2. Johne244 says:

    I like this site its a master peace ! Glad I observed this on google. The definition of a beautiful woman is one who loves me. by Sloan Wilson. gdddeddddked

Leave a Reply

