On Voter Purging


Here is a thing to think about.  Governors Scott of Florida and Corbett of Pennsylvania (among others not as well known) are saying their voter purges are specifically to get Romney elected in their states.

Personally, if I were one of those voters NOT being targeted, I might look at this as a matter of controlling my vote.  Therefore, if I didn’t really like Romney, but were planning to simply vote against Obama, maybe just because of racism (and I assure you I am not – I will be voting for Obama here in Texas), I would be very likely to vote for Obama just  because I dislike anyone being so sure of my vote that I’m going to be a part of these purges.  As well, I might begin to wonder if a voter purge might target me another time because I’m perceived as someone who will vote a certain way.

Think about it, and don’t let them decide who you are going to vote for.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Voter Purging

  1. kip says:

    The point is, fewer women, minorities and young voters will be allowed to cast their ballots. So while they’d very much like to vote for Obama, they won’t be permitted to.
    Mitt Romney will win in November.

    • carolstepp says:

      I disagree. I feel perfectly certain that Obama will win again. In spite of what these jerks are doing. And Democrats in these states that are being targeted are helping to get voters registered, or get the correct ID. It is illegal to keep anyone from voting, and if class-action lawsuits come out of it, I will be in there. Besides, there is already a lawsuit going on in Pennsylvania, and if the elderly woman wins it, which she likely will, the purges will be illegal. At least the Democratic precinct chiefs in Florida are refusing to purge their lists.

  2. kip says:

    I hope you’re right and I’m wrong.

  3. carolstepp says:

    Kip, I have a great deal of confidence in Obama winning again. I even think Rick Santorum will vote for him, although I’ll never be able to prove it, of course. But he said himself that Mitt was the worst person to run against Obama, and that he himself would rather vote for Obama than Romney. I think those who vote against Obama are doing it because they are either so conservative they would rather have anybody but Obama (which was the reason I voted for Kerry – anybody but Bush), or are simply racist. Mitt Romney managed to alienate the black people altogether yesterday. Though he said he has a circle of prominent black people in his pocket, and that they had a secret meeting, he refuses to name them. I think he is full of crap, and we all know he lies constantly. Anyway, women, young people, blacks, Hispanics, seniors, we are all Obama fans. Mitt has wealthy white men on his side, but I can you that here in Texas, women will not vote for Obama whether their husbands tell them to or not. Mitt Romney, and his wealthy backers, keep showing their asses, and making all kinds of mistakes. Even if the weird happens, and Ron Paul wins Nebraska and/or Nevada, I am pretty sure Obama can bean Paul as well. I know the Repub convention is probably going to be very entertaining, and very hostile, this year. I will be watching it.
    (And frankly, until you said you hope you are wrong and I am right, I thought you might have been one of those hunka-bunka white men who fit the category). I would love to talk to John Boehner, face-to-face, and tell him that “people” are not against the ACA, and he should just get on with important legislation. What a clown. But then he and McConnell are both on my list, if they lose their seats, to be targeted in a treason case which I hope to bring against them. Anyone who would put their own political wishes ahead of this country are traitors in my book, and they have both proclaimed their agenda to get rid of Obama.
    Carol

Leave a Reply

