Royal Pains redux II – Season 4


Well, Carol Flint did not show up in the actors’ lineups.  But she is still an associate producer, and she did co-write last night’s episode.  So I think Carol may have just got tired of working on both sides of the camera.  Or just doesn’t like the acting end of it.

At the same time, I see Brooke D’Orsay and Campbell Scott were both added to the regular cast list.  That means Paige and Boris are now full-time regulars of the show.  That is good news.

Divya’s mom left Divya’s dad.  This could be an interesting new storyline.  I wonder if the actress will eventually come on as a regular, or if this is just a burp in the domestic “happiness” of Divya’s mom.

Boris?  I’m glad he is back.  I wonder if the end of last night’s show is really ominous, or if they just want us to think so.  Da-da-da-dum!!!  Guess we will find out.  Love that he is making his house “baby-proof”.  Love that he is so paranoid.  I think that since we learned last season that his disease might not be quite as fatal as we all thought, he will be playing a totally different kind of man now – just a bit more paranoid because I suppose he is still under fire by family and associates over his fortune.  But now he has to protect his son, and that will make him even more paranoid.

And what can I say about Eddie and Evan?  I don’t like them, but I am aware a lot of people do.  I think Hank would be better off if he could find someone else to run his office, and get him more patients (like Divya), but I am sure that Paolo Constanza will remain on the show (and I have nothing against the actor), and so we will have Evan, especially now that we have Paige.  Maybe she can keep him busy enough that he will quit interfering with Hank’s doctor.  I thought the lines about doctor/patient privilege were quite good last night, and Evan’s comment about Hank not having a patient were quite out of line.  Evan really could get himself sued if he doesn’t begin to understand that medicine and healing is more important than money, at least having more money than one needs.  This story line in the midst of this political season is either brilliant or foolish, but I hope the kind of people who watch it for the drama as opposed to the romance are picking up on how Evan is being played/written as a Romney-type, and Hank is more of an Obama-type, people first before self.

I doubt I’ll write a weekly blog, as this is the third week in a row, but I need to see what they are going to do with the storyline before writing something I may not know anything about.  Especially since I was proven so wrong in my guesses after the first writing.  I just don’t know at this point, nor do I have any real guesses (just a bit of speculation) about what the writers are going to do (including Carol Flint, ex-Jill).

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Other media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

