Romney Fees and Taxes


I heard something on Rev. Al’s show PoliticsNation a few days ago, and thought I would look it up.  The information I have is from Wikipedia.

Romney says he will not raise taxes, but wants to give more cuts to the wealthiest.  But while Governor of Massachusetts (one term only), he raised fees on just about everything.  Rev. Al had a major list of fees, which I did not find in Wikipedia, but I did find out that he added 33 new fees, and increased 57 other fees.  These included, but are not limited to, drivers’ licenses, marriage licenses, gun licenses, gasoline retailer fee by 2 cents per gallon, doubled fees for court filings, and increased fees, some up to 40%, for professional regulations including nursing licenses and hair dresser licenses.

He claimed these were not tax increases, just fee increases, and the people of Massachusetts did not believe this, and although he said he would not run for a second term because he wanted to run for president (2007 for 2008), it is believed that he did not run for a second term because he knew he could not get re-elected.  This is a theory; I have not read anything to tell me if it is true.  But I cannot help but believe that it is true.

Anyway, by not “raising taxes”, allowing tax relief for the wealthiest, and his new “fees”, he still managed to leave the state with a $1 billion deficit according to Deval Patrick, who replaced him as governor.

I have never understood why you had to pay a fee, which is just another tax, on marriage licenses anyway.  There is no reason that any government entity should have anything to say about whether people get married or not.  I don’t even know when taxing marriage came about.

Well, I wonder how Romney did this weekend with his Utah luxury weekend for all those who gave him at least $1 million dollars in this present campaign.  Even Karl Rove attended, which is against the law since corporate PAC sponsors are not supposed to mingle socially when it is about politics.  Of course, they will easily deny that this weekend was politically motivated.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Finance, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Romney Fees and Taxes

  1. Faybienne Beard says:

    That’s why Romney scares me to death. I never understood the buisness about “fees” either. Here in Illinois where I live does that on all of the utility bills. My favorite is the electric bill. You’re charged 4 different ways for the privilage of purchasing electricity, a metor, then a fee for having it run into where you live. I’ve received electric bills where only $53 was used but the total on the bill is way OVER $100. I’d love to have that one explained to me!

    • carolstepp says:

      This is one reason, Faybienne, that I am glad I live in assisted housing. All bills are paid (except telephone, which I also get for free), and the only time we ever pay anything for electricity is if we go above a certain amount. I do not know what that amount is, but since in over three years I’ve never had to pay a bill, I guess I am well within the allowed bunch. And I run my A/C during the hot months between 72 and 77, and my television every night, I guess I still don’t use more than my allowed amount.
      As for Romney, video clips are showing up about RomneyCare in Massachusetts, and he is clearly saying in an interview about the mandate that if anyone did not pay the penalty for not opting in, they were going to have their income tax returns seized and the amount of the yearly penalty taken out. But try to say to him that this means the penalty is a tax, and they will deny it from here to eternity. Thanks for writing. Carol

Leave a Reply

