Royal Pains Season 4 redux


Well, it didn’t take long to make a couple of my predictions totally wrong.  I have no idea where the show is going now, especially since Divya has called the boys’ dad back in.  I wish she hadn’t, but then I don’t write the show.  I don’t want Hank to have to get back with Evan because I just don’t like Evan’s attitude.  He is smarmy along with his money ambitions – perhaps this is the year, when we are learning to dislike corporations, to see something like this.  But since I don’t know how the writers are feeling about corporations, I think that playing up a money-loving corporation type person is a mistake.  But then, what do I know?

As for Jill, I know that the actress, Carol Flint, is also involved behind the scenes.  So if she is gone forever, and I won’t know that until I see the cast list next week, perhaps the person just wants to stay on one side of the camera, and not both.  I just don’t know.  I didn’t really think she would leave.

The only thing I can see right now to keep Hank and Jill together would be for Hank to decide to move to Africa and do medicine there – doctors without borders.  But then Jill is not supposed to be staying in one place – she is supposed to be moving around the world.  I hardly think he would be of much use to any one set of people if he followed her to all the different places, and he probably couldn’t afford it anyway, unless he worked for the same people she does, and we still have Boris to think about.  I assume he will be back at some point, he still has his house.  Unless he sells it out from under Hank.

Whatever.  Maybe it was never intended for Jill and Hank to be together permanently; maybe there will be a new girl for Hank.  I have yet to see a sitcom where romance isn’t involved heavily with the main character, and I doubt Paige and Evan are enough for the romantically inclined – the people who watch a show just to see people hook up.  I’d like to think Hank would keep his ideals.  Not sure, based on last night’s show, if I still consider this the best show on television, but I’m going to continue watching it because I really like Mark Feuerstein, and I really like Divya, and I like Paige as well, and I’d like to see where these three are going to end up.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Other media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

