About Homophobia


This is another comment I made from a discussion that I thought I would pass on here.  It was a discussion about marriage rights and equal rights and homophobia (as the title says).  It was written in response to another comment on FaceBook, and I, as usual, post only my own reply, without names, in order to preserve the privacy of anyone else involved.

Carol

You know, I think what I like about these things is not to start an argument with those who don’t like this. It is that the Constitution gives everyone equal rights, if not in the original, in the Amendments. As time passes, things change, sometimes for the worst, but mostly for the better. I think it is better that blacks are recognized as a whole person instead of 1/3; I think it is better that women were given the vote. I think the amendment to cancel the amendment about alcohol was right. I personally do not like telephones – I would rather not use mine unless it is for a necessity – but I don’t spend a lot of time just talking to people. But telephones are a blessing for a lot of others. Is electricity great? Of course it is. But it was not listed in the Constitution. Marriage, even when the Constitution was written, was different than it is now. So are religious and spiritual issues. We were not meant to stagnate, but to use the brains and the abilities God/dess gave us. If things were not supposed to change, we would have never left the Garden of Eden, or the oceans, or gone from being hunter/gatherers to farmers and bankers and educators. We cannot sit still – the universe will not let us.

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in personal thoughts, Politics, Religious and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

