Paul Ryan and other things


On Saturday, May 5, 2012, John Young wrote his regular Saturday op-ed that was a real eye opener to me, even though I already knew most of the facts.  John Young was editor of the Waco newspaper when he heroically endorsed an opponent of George W. Bush in 2004, and I think he lost his job because of it.  He still lives somewhere in Texas, and he writes a regular Saturday column that I think may be printed in many newspapers.  I am going to quote a couple of things from this column; they will be in quotes.  And for the sake of being open, I will send him an email telling him that I have done this, and that I do not get any benefits for doing so.

“False prophets, says the Book of Matthew, are those who ‘come at you in sheep’s clothing’ for who ‘inwardly are ravenous wolves’.  Rep. Paul Ryan, a Catholic, tells us his call to gut social programs is in keeping with his faith and is endorsed by his pope.  This would be a damning falsehood were Ryan’s pope the one who offices at Vatican Square.  It is not.  The congressman’s holy man has lush digs in Washington.  There, moneyed interests drape papal vestments on Grover Norquist, the pope – er, president – of Americans for Tax Reform………….

When Ryan, interviewed on a Christian television show, painted his fiscal designs as a godly mission, he made some Catholics upset………….

……….when Ryan defended his line ………..at Catholic Georgetown University, an idignant crowd protested, including a man ………identified himself at GOP Je$us………he recited the ‘Me-Attitudes’……….Blessed are the rich.  The reign of this world is ours……….Blessed are those who show no mercy – no mercy to the poor, to the women and children, the elderly and the homeless………”

John Young goes on to cite a number of programs that will be cut, all for the reason to try and control spending by the government.  These programs are to be cut, says the tea party, as a way to keep the wealthy from having to pay higher taxes.  Young also says that taxes as a percentage of GDP are the lowest since the early 1950s, deficits be damned.

Just a reminder that Mitt Romney wants to accept Paul Ryan’s budget for his “own administration”, which is never going to happen.

When will these politicians and wealthy nabobs  understand that we the people are smarter than they think we are – a whole lot smarter.  Fortunately I live in a place where there are a lot of elderly, people living in poverty, and people who need a lot of medical assistance.  I for one am living below the poverty level, but am over 65, so have Medicare and Assisted Housing.  But I’m not keeping my mouth shut here.  I am making sure that every single person in this place knows what is going to happen to them if they vote the Republican ticket.  Of course, there are people here who Repubs hope won’t vote, being elderly, and mostly of the black race.  But I am questioning everyone who will answer me if they are registered to vote.  I am going to call for a bus to carry us all to the voting site in November and make sure they vote.

John Young ends with this paragraph:  “Your heart will always be where your treasure is, wrote Matthew – an oath that, though biblical, has received the gold-embossed seal of approval from Grover Norquist as well.”

Think about it.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Finance, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

