The Obama campaign, and Michelle


This is for you folks who think I never say anything against Obama, but if something I heard on a right-wing radio station this morning is true (yes, I do have a right-wing station on my radio), “they” are saying Obama is changing his tactics and going to stop talking against Mitt Romney about his flip-flopping, and start campaigning against him because he is a far right-wing conservative.  Now, I disagree with this.  I don’t think Romney is a far right-winger.  I think he is a moderate, and I think that once he has the nomination in place, you will begin to see his true colours, at least when it comes to Planned Parenthood and his record as Massachusetts government and the health-care plan he put through there, which Obama’s health-care plan is based on.

So I have this to say:  President Obama, if the right-wingers on the radio station are right, I think you are making a big mistake.  I think you should stick with the flip-flopping.  If I am wrong about Romney, and I could be, then using his right-wing positions is a good way to go, especially when it comes to the treatment of women, and in his and Ann’s inabilities to connect with the majority of the folks in this country.

You tried, Barack, to push bi-partisanship in your first two years, and you saw how that did not work – the Repubs in Congress will never go with you on anything, even things they themselves suggested, once you took them on.  So stick with your party, and what we who want you to have been doing all along, and which we now approve of, and don’t take your campaign into territory that is probably blatantly false.  Mitt Romney is not a far-right-wing politician, except these days when he needed to play to the party’s evangelical southern base, and stay with what you are doing already.  You are hugely popular right now, and you do not want to tear down the reasons for being there.

And FYI, I ran a very unscientific, and not widely known, poll a few days ago asking which woman would be preferable in the White House, and Michelle won by a huge margin.  I did not get a vote for Ann Romney, and in fact, has one person tell me that even her Repub friends preferred Michelle as First Lady.

Perhaps, since Romney is toting Ann along on so many of his campaign stops, you might bring Michelle along to a few of yours.  I know she is busy campaigning for you, and trying to keep up with all of her own obligations, but it wouldn’t hurt to have her along now and again because I think people definitely should have the ability to see the difference between both women, and she could certainly help your own campaign along.

We women already pretty much know what we want, and it is not going to be right-wing, but being women, we want to see the distaff side as well.

Thank you for listening,

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

