Mitt can’t win for losing


OK, after an evening of listening to the pundits (and I believe that would be a name people might call me), I have the following opinions:

Santorum got out because he was probably going to lose his homestate of Pennsylvania, and Mitt had already run an ad about how the people of Pennsylvania had “fired” him in his last run for the Senate.  Between that, and his daughter Bella’s illness, I think he decided he would be better off if he got out, for now.  But I also believe that Rick does not think Romney can defeat Barack Obama, and he wants the people to see what another four years of Obama will do to them.  That would be his evangelical base, of course, since we know Obama is going to win anyway, and most of us are very happy about that.

But Rick Santorum has already made it known he plans to run again in 2016, and a lot of people are thinking it will be Hillary he will be running against.  That would be an interesting race.  And, since Rick has already made the statement he would rather vote for Obama than Romney, I think if we read between the lines of the fact that he did not endorse Romney (and even if he eventually does), I believe he will vote for Obama, if just to prove a point he thinks he has.

But poor Mitt.  He loses Santorum, only to gain George W. Bush.  Bush chose yesterday to come back out and politicize the tax cuts.  Since I already believe Romney will do a 180 after he gets the nomination and will go back to backing some of the things he has in the past, like Planned Parenthood, I think as a way to distance himself from GWB, he may go even more moderate than his base will stand for.  Of course they will vote for him, rather than vote for Obama (and I still think racism has a lot to do with some of it).

Anyway, yesterday was a win for my side.  Hallelujah.

Carol Stepp, Austin

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

