Dancing With The Stars


I thought this was the very best first night of all of the seasons so far, and I found it impossible to make any predictions this early.  There was not really any bad dancing last night.  Like Lynn, I tend to be a purist, probably because I worked for Arthur Murray way back about a century ago, but I have finally come to learn how to appreciate the idea of “show” dancing as opposed to “real” ballroom dancing.  I did make a few notes:

Maria Menunous – she did a pretty cha cha, but if they are going to play up her laugh as they were last night, I’m not sure I’ll be able to put it aside.

Jack Wagner – he has been a fave since General Hospital, and in addition to that and his singing, he is also a class one golfer, not in any of the major tournaments, but he holds his own celebrity golf tournament, and enters others.  He might have been my first choice, but there are so many others in this season that I like, so no judgments from me yet.

Don Driver – not familiar with him, though I am a Packer fan.  He was certainly a crowd fave, and athletes always do well on this show.

Gavin DeGraw – another unfamiliar one, not even sure I got his name right.  He was a little clumsy, but this is the first night, and I expect he will do better in the faster dances than the foxtrot.

Roshon Fagin – another unfamiliar one.  He needs to get out of his hip-hop mode, or Lynn will be sure to start wishing he would go away.  Really.  Moon walk???

Sherri Shepherd – did a lovely fox trot, but she needs to tone down her bouncy self or she will wear on my nerves, and I’ll start going against her.

Melissa Gilbert – I though she was acting kind of odd, but probably misinterpreted what she was trying to say.  She was a little too stiff with this dance, but again, she will loosen up as she learns.  And she is very pretty.

William Levity (?) – not sure if they were saying Levity or Levy, or maybe something entirely different, but my first thought with him was automatic winner – the Latin men always go wonderful jobs, as did my fave last year, J. R. Martinez, and Helio, when he was on it.  But William has a lot of competition this year.  Not an absolute winner, though the women sure do love him.

Martina Navratilova – I know what she means about wearing a dress and getting all made up.  She is so pretty in this light.  And her partner, Tony Dovolani, is my very fave of all the pros.  So I’d like to see her go all the way just for him.  I doubt she will, but in the meantime I will enjoy this new Martina.  She may just be the one who will have the hardest time learning how to be graceful in this more elegant style of grace.

Kathryn Jenkins – I have loved her voice for a very long time, friended her on MySpace and need to on FaceBook.  She is gorgeous, and she was one of two of the highest scorers last night.  She has that beautiful British accent, and I think she will make it to the finals.

Gladys Knight – she has long been one of my fave singers (and singing group with the Pips, out of the 60s), and she was so natural in her movements.  I think she also has a good chance to make it to the finals.  Love it when a lady near my age does such a good job.

Jaleel White – the one everyone was probably waiting for.  He sure grew up nicely, and he is a very smooth dancer.  One more I think will make it to the finals, but have to see how he does with the Latin dances.

Anyway, that is my take on the beginning.  I’ll probably come back from time to time, and either add to this blog, or write more blogs.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Other media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

