Rick Santorum


Yesterday, March 13, Rick Santorum walked away with Mississippi and Alabama.  I don’t think it was expected.  By anyone.  But I, as a liberal Democrat, am thrilled.  Rick Santorum cannot beat Barak Obama, and while I don’t think Romney can either, if Santorum has to debate Obama, it will be a fiasco, on Santorum’s part.  Unfortunately, the way delegates are given, Santorum may have a hard time getting enough delegates to take the nomination.  But I don’t think Romney will get the whole 1140 he needs, and so the Republican Convention will be a real circus this year.  And then there is Ron Paul, who also has a few delegates, and will be being touted and caressed at the convention.  I suppose Santorum will get the bulk of Newt’s delegates, and that is perhaps why Newt is staying in, to get some of those delegates that might otherwise be given to Romney.

Texas, of course, is not getting its say very much in the primary selections because it has been so “horsy” about redistricting that the Feds made “us” move our primary until the end of May.  Not only that, but Texas has had so much hubris, with Rick Perry thinking he can get everything his way, that the Feds have not approved the ID photo for voters.  Which is good.  Too bad “we” in the past have mistreated minorities.

But I digress.  Newt Gingrich is refusing, at least up to the point as I write this, to leave the race.  That’s all to the good as well, from my point of view.  But I have to admit I feel a bit sorry for the man – he is beginning to make a fool of himself.  I suppose it will take his major donor cutting off the money to him to make his quit.  At least I don’t think he will get the nomination, and that will leave Rick Perry out of the running for VP.

I did have to laugh at Romney, when asked if he would accept a ticket with him and Santorum on it, said that Santorum was way too liberal on women’s rights, i.e., right to do with their own bodies as they want.  I don’t think anyone is as far right as Santorum is on that particular issue.  So Romney is confused, Santorum will not get the women’s vote, and Newt won’t get the nomination.  What a circus with the Republicans this year.

Now someone of you may want to point out to me that White Evangelical Women voted for Santorum in large numbers.  Here is how I see the numbers:  Almost 90% of the voters in the two states yesterday were white evangelicals, with only about 10% “others”.  I think perhaps women who would not normally vote Republican, or are not planning to this year, may have gone to the polls and voted for Santorum because they want him against Obama.  I have actually thought about that in Texas, but I don’t want Republican stamped on my voter registration, and besides, I think Texas has a couple of Democratic primaries I am interested in, like Kay Bailey Hutchison’s Senate seat.  But otherwise, I’d be tempted to go and vote for Santorum just to see him win the primary.

And, the “others” in Mississippi and Alabama, the ones who didn’t turn out, are Obama people anyway.  And as long as the Feds don’t allow the southern states to require photo IDs to vote, those election judges won’t be able to turn them away from voting on the big election day in November.  I know that is what is being hoped for, that the Feds will allow it by November, but if the Feds have any sense of justice at all, it won’t happen.  Those poor folks in the south, who are not white evangelical types, have been stepped on way too many times already.

Anyway, that is my take on what is going on so far.  I’m sure I’ll have more to say when Louisiana and then Illinois have their primaries.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

