Funny Times


I read a monthly newspaper titled Funny Times, which a friend gives me every year for Christmas.  It is a very liberal newspaper, and there is much in it that no right-winger would appreciate.  Although this last year, even Barack Obama has come under fire a few times for trying too hard to be non-partisan.  Thank the maker that he has backed off a little of his striving, considering he is getting no support at all from the opposition, simply because they want him out.

Anyway, there are a lot of writers (including new Harlan Ellison and Dave Barry and Garrison Keilor) who write fascinating articles every month, and the paper is full of wonderful cartoons about every subject on earth, including, of course, politics, but religion as well.  This newspaper comes out of Cleveland, OH, and has a website http://www.funnytimes.com.

I got my March issue yesterday, and I always go home and read it from cover to cover.  One of the regular articles is New of the Weird, which I have seen in other publications, including in Austin The Chronicle.  I picked up on one particular item in this issue that had to do with religion, and its hypocritical nature.

Quoting, under the heading Ironies:  “Because this past Christmas fell on a Sunday, nearly one Protestant church in 10 in the US reported having canceled Sunday services that day out of fear of low attendance, as parishioners remained at home with family.  The poll, by Lifeway Research, noted also that other  churches, while not canceling, had left services to their second-string clergy…”

Also, under Harper’s Index, another regular feature, were these facts:  Amount employees of private-equity firm Bain Capital have donated to the campaign of its co-founder Mitt Romney:  $69,500.

To the Obama campaign:  $119,900.

And for the right-wingers who might read this:  Date on which Obama said that donations from lobbyists ‘don’t contribute to the public interest’:  8/4/2007.

Minimum amount Obama’s 2012 campaign has so far accepted from bundlers connected to lobbyists:  $2,800,000.

Well, one can change their mind, but in this case I suspect it is more of a “if you can’t lick them, join them, and get your fair share of the money”.

Just some news for today.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Funny Times

  1. simonandfinn says:

    Someone just told me about Funny Times and I’ve been clicking through their cartoons on-line, there’s some great stuff on there!! Not sure if we can receive it here in Canada though.. 😦

    • carolstepp says:

      I don’t know either. But since they are based in Cleveland, perhaps you can. Have you contacted them? A friend gave me my first subscription for Christmas four years ago, and then I couldn’t afford to renew, and then she gave me a two-year subscription which will expire this coming Christmas. I have a little more money now, so I imagine I will keep it up, unless she renews it first. I love it – of course it is very liberal.

Leave a Reply

