Political year 2012-2/20


Well, first of all, I read in Sunday’s paper that Texas is coming out for Rick Santorum.  I guess that shows Rick Perry, who is endorsing Newt Gingrich.  Of course, I also read that this is making the leaders worried – they are afraid with Santorum that the independents and moderates are falling by the wayside.  That is good.  We Obama folks will take them.  Anyway, because of the feud over redistricting, the primary elections for the Repubs are not going to be until sometime in May, and if there are runoffs, they won’t be held until July, after the Republican conventions.  I must say, for a bunch who want to take over the government, which they dislike (except in the case of getting into your bedrooms), they are not showing that they can do a very good job.  They are more interested in their own political outlooks than they are the people’s.

I am currently reading a book titled A Moment in Camelot, written by Maggie Rennert.  It is a fictionalized version of what the White House might have been like in the Kennedy era, though the names have been changed to protect the innocent – or the guilty.  Maggie wrote this in 1968, though, and it is really easy to apply names to some of the characters in the book.

What I found fascinating, and another example of how history keeps repeating itself (and remembering the Civil Rights movement of the 60s) is the following passage which I’m going to quote:

“I want to go on record here and now in total support of your group’s abhorrence of sex…..I refer, of course, to the probability that if you people keep on with your crusade against sex, you will eventually….put yourself out of business through the inexorable results of your purity….some days the problem of coaxing the decent people out of hiding in the South seems downright insurmountable.”

This sentence came out in the middle of a “speech” by the president, who originally started talking about how the Negro was being treated in the South in the 60s – the Freedom Riders and the biased sheriffs in Mississippi and Alabama.  And the quote was not against the Negro – it was an emotional thing that came out during a rehearsal for a speech the president was going to make.

And I thought, how appropriate, with the Senator(?) from New Hampshire saying that married couples should practice abstinence as birth control.  Now imagine that if every religious right couple should practice abstinence, and quit having babies, that the attrition rate of those folks would slowly go down, and in the future, there would be fewer of them.

Well, it’s just a thought.  I also read sometime this past weekend in the newspaper about a preacher who lumped yoga in with evil doings, though I didn’t keep the article for some reason – I guess I was depending on my memory, or just plain forgot – and it reminded me of the time in the 90s when I was working a kiosk that sold crystal and pewter figurines of things of nature, as well as pyramids, dragons, unicorns, et al, and a man whose wife stopped to look pulled her away, telling her she was looking at satanist art.  I actually made a comment to the man, but he was one of those hunka-bunka men who had a huge beer belly, and talked loudly against anything he was afraid of.

Anyway, let me stand up now and say I approve of those of you who prefer abstinence to anything that might protect the woman against having babies – while wondering what girl or woman you men were going out to get for a substitute, whose fate you care nothing about – and hope you all will go away with time.

This also reminds me of another story about homosexuals taking over the earth and banning all heteros to another planet in a trilogy titled The Forever War written by Harry Harrison, and how multiple clonings cost the latest clones to lose a great deal of what makes them “alive”, but that’s another story for another day, and a story about reverse discrimination.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

