Separation of church and state, part I


Yesterday I read that the Baptist Council is trying to stop the Texas Lottery from using the Internet for people to send their numbers for second drawings.  The way I understand it, these numbers are then transferred to a second computer not connected to the Internet before the numbers are drawn.  And tickets are not being sold over the Internet for the lottery.  But the Baptists are trying to shut down this very convenient system for those who do play the lottery by saying it is gambling on the Internet.

Now I know gambling is allowed on the Internet; people gamble all the time using credit cards and PayPal, so apparently it is not illegal.  I don’t know the process by which they get licensed, but the lottery is not selling their tickets through the Internet, so they are not using the Internet for gambling.

It is just another case of the Baptists showing their asses, trying to interfere in something that is not any of their business.

In a few days I am going to come in and copy the Declaration of Independence because I suspect there are a lot of people who have never read it.  And then I am going to copy parts of the Constitution.  We got a taste of the ignorance with that Christine in New Jersey who did not know the Constitution guaranteed right of speech last year.

But for now, I am a great believer in separation of church and state, and will defend it always.  I believe if churches are going to preach politics from their bully pulpits, they should be taxed.

Even people who totally believe in the King James version of the Bible know, or should know, that Jesus himself said “render unto Caesar what is Caesar’s and unto God what is Gods”.  Sounds like he believed in separation of church and state.

In this country, the United States of America, is not run by the Baptist, or the Catholic, churches, or indeed any church at all.  Keep the two entities separate, as they were intended to be.  People did not come here to escape religious persecution in the early days (yes, in later days, but that was just an addition), when this country was being newly formed.  They were escaping governments, and the Boston Tea Party was staged as a rebellion against taxation without representation.  All you religious right folks – stay out of my government.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Religious and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

