2012 – the movie


I did not go to see 2012 when it was in the theatres.  I had seen previews, and figured it was going to be a farce on a possible event that many of us out here are awaiting, to see exactly what might happen on December 21, 2012.  But it got to television, FX to be precise, and I watched it.  I then watched it twice more in reruns.

This movie got only two stars – I don’t know if it was for the acting (John Cusack and Chiwetel Ejiofor were both excellent, and Oliver Platt as a not-so-nice guy was a surprise for me), or for the special effects (which I thought were brilliant), or simply for the subject matter.  I’m inclined to think the latter because it turned into quite a good movie.

Talking about 2012 is somewhat difficult for me because the arcane side of my nature says the mystical is often correct, and the mundane not so much.  I am a gnostic pagan, and I believe anything is possible.  I don’t believe the world is going to end this year – this earth is not going to end until the sun turns into a red star and engulfs pretty much the entire solar system in which we live.  I do think the weather phenomenons that were carried out through last year are going to continue into this year, perhaps even worse, just because global warming is causing havoc all over the globe.  And I don’t care if you don’t believe in global warming – that doesn’t make it less true than it is.  As well, the shifting of the poles has also been a reality in the past, and I can accept that it might be about time to happen again.  The Ozone hole above the South Pole is enough to show that to me, as well as the extra activity of the Aurora Borealis since this latest large sun-burst.

But back to the movie:  in the movie, the things that are tearing the earth apart in this apocalypse are caused by the largest sunspot every recorded on the sun.  Since I doubt the writers of the script for the movie foresaw this sunspot activity that is happening now, and that makes it even more of a wonder – perhaps even a bit scary to the writers that it could actually be happening – what they wrote, that is.

I especially loved the idea of the arks, rather than spaceships, being the mode of saving a lot of civilization.  It made the thought of life continuing more believable than had they ended with movie with everyone flying off into space.  That there were animals saved, as well as plants and other biological forms than just humankind made a lot of sense to me.  That they were built in the Himalayas by the Chinese was interesting.  But as a reader of science fiction, much of the good written sf has futures with people speaking Arabic and Chinese, either both in some sf, or one or the other in other sf.  For those who don’t read it, but who watch it, the series Firefly perhaps best signified the idea that it would be both.  And Chinese was the language other than English that was being spoken on the series.  And in the movie Blade Runner, it was Arabic, mixed with Chinese.

Anyway, if you haven’t seen the movie, and you have an open mind, I recommend it highly.  It is one I am going to buy on DVD so I watch it a few more times.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Other media. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 – the movie

  1. farleftloony says:

    Saw a cartoon Two Mayans with a disk , one says ran out of room at 2012 that goona freak someone out

Leave a Reply

