Heisman, Biletnikof, and Bowls


It’s that time of year, college football season almost over, and awards this coming Saturday night.  Now last year, Kellan Moore was my second choice for the Heisman, but I wanted Cam Newton to win.  Which he did.  So Kellan was going to be my first choice this year, but it seems he has dropped out of the running.  Therefore, I need to choose between Robert Griffin III and Andrew Luck.  My choice is RGIII – my prediction is probably Andrew Luck.  Will see whether my choice or my prediction wins.

I know little about the Freddie (Biletnikof) award, but Freddie was on my fave pro football team for years, and I still admire the work between him and Daryl with the 60s Raiders.  If eligible, I would like to see LaMichael James get that award.  They were/are both receivers, and that is the only thing I can think of that might make James eligible to get it.

Bowls – there are 35 of them, most probably unimportant to most people who are not directly involved in the team(s) playing, but I like to watch them all, and make predictions.  Once again my choices are not scientific – I make them either from a gut feeling, or just because I like one team better than the either – no specific reasons.  And away we go:

December 17, New Mexico Bowl, Wyoming vs. Temple – my choice Wyoming

Famous Idaho Potato Bowl, Utah State vs. Ohio – my choice Ohio

New Orleans Bowl, La-Lafayette vs. San Diego State – my choice San Diego State

December 20, Beef O’Brady’s, Marshall vs. FIU – my choice FIU

December 21, Poinsettia, TCU vs Louisiana Tech, my choice TCU

December 22, MAACO, Boise State vs Arizona State, my choice Boise State

December 24, Hawaii, Nevada vs. So. Miss, my choice Southern Miss

December 26, Independence, NC vs Missouri, my choice Mizzou

December 27, Little Caesars Pizza, W. Mich. vs Purdue, my choice Purdue

Belk, NCState vs Louisville, my choice NC State

December 28, Military, Air Force vs Toledo, my choice Air Force

Holiday, Texas vs California, my choice California

December 29, Champs Sports, Fl. State vs Notre Dame, my choice ND

Alamo, Baylor vs Washington, my choice Baylor

December 30, Armed Forces, Tulsa vs BYU, my choice BYU

Pinstripe, Rutgers vs. Iowa State, my choice Rutgers

Music City, Miss. State vs. Wake Forest, my choice Wake Forest

Insight, Oklahoma vs Iowa, my choice Oklahoma

December 31, Meineke Car Care, Texas A&M vs Northwestern, my choice Aggies

Sun, Georgia Tech vs Utah, my choice Georgia Tech

Liberty, Vanderbilt vs Cincinnati, my choice Vandy

Fight Hunger, UCLA vs Illinois, my choice Illinois

Chick-fil-A, Virginia vs Auburn, my choice Auburn

January 2, TicketCity, Penn State vs Houston, my choice Penn State

Capital One, Nebraska vs So. Carolina, my choice S. Carolina

Outback, Georgia vs Michigan State, my choice Mich. State

Gator, Florida vs Ohio State, my choice Ohio State

Rose, Oregon vs Wisconsin, my choice Oregon

Fiesta, Stanford vs Oklahoma State, my choice Oklahoma State

January 3, Sugar, Michigan vs VTech, my choice Michigan

January 4, Orange, West Virginia vs Clemson, my choice Clemson

January 6, Cotton, Kansas State vs Arkansas, my choice K State

January 7, BBVA Compass, Pittsburgh vs SMU, my choice SMU

January 8, Arkansas State vs Northern Illinois, my choice N. Illinois

January 9, BSC Championship, LSU vs Alabama, my choice LSU

Some will note that of the seven teams I regularly follow, one of them I chose against.  That was Iowa State.  I just don’t think they can beat Rutgers.  And also please note that I am among them who think the BCS should have been between LSU and OK State.

Now I’m going over to ESPN and make my choices there.

Have a happy holiday, ya’ll.

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

