College football week 10


I have to admit that while every one of my chosen teams that played Saturday (Penn off, Auburn off), every one of them won:  Notre Dame, LSU (loud cheer), Oklahoma State, Iowa State, and Boise State.  Yet in my putting myself up against the local sports writers for the American Statesman, I came in 7/8, along with one other, yet everyone else beat me.  I guess I just go for other teams than they do, in the regular 15 that are chosen every week (well, I did pick Texas Tech over Texas, and they all go with Texas all the time, and I lost).  Well, more stats in a couple of weeks, then I’ll predict my bowl winners.

I have also figured out that ESPN uses their own polls rather than the AP polls because they have had Texas in the top 25 for the past two weeks, whereas Texas didn’t even show up in the AP.  My opinion on Texas, even though I worked there for over 20 years, is that I love the band and the school, but I cannot abide DeLoss Dodds (and yes, I have heard of the Penn State AD and his troubles – don’t like them either), so I don’t go with Texas football normally.  But I like so much else about the school that I don’t suppose football is all that important to me there.

I do think they screwed themselves with their Longhorn Network.  And that is why so many teams are opting out of their league.  I mean let’s face it, so many Longhorn fans cannot even see them every week, and that is because we cannot afford the costs of the Longhorn Network – FX picked up the game this week.  But the other teams in the league, who play Texas, don’t get television coverage when the Longhorn Network can’t sell the week’s game to another channel.  I don’t get ESPNU, so I miss games there.  But as it is, I manage to catch parts of almost every game on television on Saturdays, as well as the weekly games (Tu-Fr) through the networks, or with ESPN, ESPN2, and Fox Sports Network.  So I wouldn’t be buying into their network anyway.  I’m not likely to miss too many of the Longhorn games anyway because like the Texas-Texas A&M game, someone will pick that one up.  But that doesn’t guarantee I would get to watch, say, Longhorns/Irish or Longhorns/Nittany Lions.

Oh well.

Carol, Austin

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

