Damian on Glee


OK, I’ve read enough about how bad and/or insulting Glee was to Damian McGinty in last night’s episode.  I would probably agree with everyone, except I watched Glee just to see Damian.  I am not a watcher of Glee because I find it to be a juvenile, silly show with silly plotlines, and I cannot understand why Jane Lynch has won so many awards for her character.  I think she plays a bad character, one with no redeeming qualities.

Having said that, I don’t want to hear a lot of excuses for Glee itself.  Perhaps I am just too old to enjoy it – perhaps it is a show made for teeny-boppers (an old-fashioned word for the younger generation) who don’t really have adult minds yet.  It is a silly show, but Damian was worth sitting through it.

Is he insulted – probably not.  He wants to be on the show, and he is on the show, and it is just a stairstep to greater heights in his career.  Frankly, he blew me away on his second song, which nobody has mentioned on the sites I was on, with his falsetto.  Remember when Damian had that little boy’s soprano voice?   And how surprised we all were when he got past puberty and became a very deep bass?  So when he broke into the falsetto on his second song, I came off my couch, I was so surprised.

Damian can do no wrong, as far as his career moves to date – at least in my opinion.  I will watch Glee as long as Damian is on it, just to watch Damian.  This can only get him more publicity, and lead him on to greater things.

As for Damian being dressed all in green for the leprechaun bit, and singing its not easy being green, it was just a clever lead-in to his being noticed by the popular guy, and taken in to the room to get into the glee club, and you should have noticed he was wearing red, which struck me as a theme throughout the show – that the in-kids wore red, and he wasn’t going to be knocked around any longer.

Glee – F; Damian A+

Carol Stepp

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music, Other media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

