Celtic Thunder revisited


I managed to see three of the times CT was on QVC yesterday, and wow, what a voice that Emmet has.  His voice is so lyrical.

I was talking to a friend about them, and we agreed that Damian was not the first one we thought of to leave CT.  Paul did not surprise me because he already had a career, and there were things going on with Sharon that sort of helped him make up his mind to leave.  But I have no wish to rehash all those things from last fall and winter, and I feel pretty sure Sharon is doing a bit to help him further his career in the US.  I was very definitely surprised when Damian left, but I am very happy for him and will probably watch Glee, which Ive not seen before, just to see him.  I certainly don’t want to lose all contact with him because I think he will be very famous one of these days.  I just hope he can handle all the fame he is going to get, and won’t get too spoiled.

With Phil gone, I don’t know what is going to happen with CT.  I think it is a shame, and I lay some blame with Sharon, but again, I don’t wish to say anything detrimental against her, again.  I’ve already made my opinions known about her, and her greed for money, and her wish to control everything and everybody.  I wish her the best.  But I have no plans to see any of the shows this fall, partly because the one show I did see last year, my seat was so bad that I didn’t really get to see the show.  The only blessing that came from that evening was getting my photo taken with Ryan.  I would go to see them if they came to Austin, but I won’t travel.  Too much money, and I’m 70 years of age, and just don’t get around as easily as I used to.

As for Ryan, I still see things in my search terms on this site of people wanting to know what happened to Ryan to cause him to briefly leave CT, and go into self-exile.  I want everyone to know that I have my own ideas about it, and I have mentioned a few of them before, and have even taken some of the blame on myself for constantly sending him messages.  I think he was just overwhelmed with all of us rabid fans, as well as there being one or two incidents that caused him to drop out.  I am surprised he is back with CT, but I am happy for him, if that is what he really wants.  I think Ryan still feels safer in a group situation, and I understand he will not be doing Meet and Greets for awhile, just to stay away from his more rabid fans.  I still hope to see him doing musical theatre someday, preferably on the London stage or the New York stage, or traveling with musical theatre companies over the world.  I still think he would be a good Marius (Les Mis), or Sky Masterson (Guys and Dolls), or several others of that ilk.

I think George may leave because he himself said he went into the auditions originally just for a chance to meet, and possibly work with, Phil Coulter.  I also think he would like to be a bit closer to home more often.  But I have no time guesses on that one.  He seems to still be enjoying what he is doing, and I think he will make a move when he no longer enjoys being a part of the group, at least as opposed to whether he will be happier as part of CT, or if he would be happier with a less rigorous schedule, and a wish to stay closer to home.

Now Emmet:  I cannot think he and that absolutely gorgeous voice will keep him tied into a group setting for long.  He is only about 20, maybe 21 by now (I don’t know his birthday), but he was 20 when he became a part of the group at the beginning of the year.  I did not know what to expect with him, but after seeing and hearing him on QVC, I realize he will be a force to be reckoned with, and he will not be held down, I don’t think.  Of course, I am not in his head, so I d0n’t have a clue what he might be thinking about, or how far he wants to go with his music.  I just hope he does not waste it.  He is just too talented.

As for Keith, I still have no clue about him or his wishes or wants.  Somehow, it seems to me he might be more interested in the production end of music, after a time.  But he also has his own band and has done his own tour, and I think he can do whatever he wants to do.  I can only wait and see, just like everyone else will have to.  Keith was originally my fave of the group, mostly because I was in my 20s when the long-haired hippie surfer dudes made up a big part of my world, and to some extent, and after I got over my crush of Ryan, Keith still is my favourite.  I know I want to keep up with his career.

And Neil – again, he was part of Phil’s band, and then he was given a principle role as a singer, and has released several of his own records/CDs, so I will have to wait on him as well.  I don’t know any more than most of you about him, and what he has in mind for his own life and career.

So I will watch and wait, on each of the seven lads who I have heard as Celtic Thunder, and as not Celtic Thunder.

And for people who are still putting things like how much money CT makes and all the questions about Ryan, and requests about personal things about Damian, I will say one last time:  I don’t know how much money they make and I don’t consider it any of my business.  So I will never know.  Nor will I answer any more questions about any of the lads private lives.  What they want you to know they will tell you.  Otherwise, just enjoy them as a musical group, and recognize them as individuals who have lives outside of CT, and be grateful for what you do get.

Carol Stepp

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

