CelticRadio


There is a great radio station that you listen to on-line, part of live365, called CelticRadio.  It’s site is CelticRadio.net, and it plays Celtic Music, along with Highland Music, Celtic-Rock, and Blue Grass and mountain music.  It is free, but you have to register and sign in.

There is an option to pay for being a member, which simply means you get ad-free music.  I actually have not heard that many ads when I listen.  I do try to listen to it everytime I get on these computers, since I don’t have a computer at home.   But then I don’t really listen to the radio; I much prefer CDs, which I play in my DVD player.

But I’m going to use the words written to me by Paul MacArthur, about the station itself:

About financial support, he writes:  Our biggest need is not until January through April of each year.  That is when we have this really big fee to pay to live365 for the licensing.  We have a fund-raising the first part of the year which helps us pay these fees, and also some of the other types of fees that seem to be a constant drain.  Really, everyone just donates $5-$20, and we have made the goal each year.

Paul goes on to say that they have set up some unique systems that help cut their costs on webhosting.  It apparently costs them something around $75-$100 a month since they run their own servers, rather than using a dedicated server (and I don’t really know what that means).  The music is given to them by the musicians, including extras so they can hold contests.  They put out a regular newsletter to their subscribers, and I am happy to say that I am one of several regular readers and writers of interesting articles about things relating to the different types of Celtic/folk music they play.  So far, all I have done is write one review for them, about Orla Fallon, but I have in hand several pieces of music to write reviews of – the first one will be written on Monday.  Paul is always interested when people write reviews for him.  I cannot say you will be paid, but if you have an itch to write reviews, you might contact them, or just send a review to them of something fairly recent.  It may appear in their news section.

Now I did have to apply for the job I am doing, so don’t use this as a guarantee that you will get printed.  But listen to the station, read the news articles, and then see if you can add to the things being talked about.  Or just jump into one of the forums.

CelticRadios main goal is to provide enjoyment to listeners, members, musicians.  Paul says they figure if they are doing something they love to do, then eventually people will take notice, and the pieces will all fall into place.  In three years, Internet Radio listening will jump from the current 80 million listeners a month to 150 million listeners, and CelticRadio is one of the stations that offer specific types of music.  Baby boomers who will be searching for their historical ancestral connections in years to come, millions of them who come from Irish/Scots/Gaelic roots, and the station will be offering the music that goes with these searches.

Paul laughingly once told me that the station is held together by bandaids and goodwill, and I get what he is saying, having once been involved with a local, non-network, public radio station, where I volunteered my time (and provided my own music), and only the manager got paid.

I recommend this station highly.  I have enjoyed quite an eclectic selection of the Celtic, traditional Irish and Scots, and mountain music I love so much, and I hope to be connected to them for a long time to come.

Remember:  CelticRadio.net

Carol Stepp

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music, Other media. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CelticRadio

  1. iolanda48 says:

    I’m a CelticRadio.net’s member and I’m really agree with Carol : CelticRadio.net is, absolutely, a wonderful site and Radio ! Great music, Great people and Great forum… and the Music is Magic.. everyday, when I can listen it..the day changes colour and getting glittering 🙂

Leave a Reply

