questions and search terms


Answering two questions left for me over the weekend.  I do not know how much money Celtic Thunder, or its individual performers, make, and I don’t think it is any of my business.  As for Celtic Thunder staying together, I think there will always be a group called Celtic Thunder.  As for who is in it, that is anyone’s guess.  It is a stepping-off place for many performers, and I would imagine that whenever they feel like they have enough recognition to make it on their own, they will eventually go solo to build on their own careers.  Paul has done it; George has his own CD out, and I imagine he will use that as a measuring stick as to whether he will go out as a solo artist, but I think he still enjoys being in the group.  Keith I have no opinion on, since he was already doing solo work, and is still doing solo work.  Damian is getting his feet wet outside of CT, but at the moment, I think he still likes being a part of the ensemble.  I also know he spends a bit of time with Paul, and is traveling a lot between Ireland and NYC.  Ryan will eventually get back into music, I think as a solo artist, hopefully into musical theatre.  As for Neil and Emmet, well Neil does his own thing already, but has just “graduated” to being a feature singer with CT, and Emmet is still starting.  But I imagine Sharon has a bevy of singers ready to go on at anytime.  And Noirin (Noreen) is the song Phil wrote for Liam Neeson after Natasha’s death.  And on his Legends CD, there is a song he wrote for both of them at their wedding.  Can’t remember the name of it as I write this, I think it is Gaelic.  And now I really must find out if people have the capability of writing to me, or giving me feedback, on this site.

Carol

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in personal thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to questions and search terms

  1. Sandra L. Garman says:

    Noirin (Noreen) was music that Phil wrote for Liam Neeson and Miranda’s wedding. The words were written to the music for Neil to sing in CT.

    • carolstepp says:

      Sorry, Sandra, but Noirin was written for Liam at Natasha’s death (we both got her name wrong, I have changed it in my blog). The song written for their wedding is on the Legends CD, which features James Galway, and it translates to “the girl with the golden hair”. Look up the CD – Phil speaks about it in his notes. And even Neil says this in one of his replies to a fan about Noirin. He tried to sing it as though he had to leave Ireland, and leave his love behind, for some political reason, but it does say a bit about having to leave someone in death.

Leave a Reply

