The “other” Brendan Monaghan


About a year ago, I looked for Brendan Monaghan on Facebook, and found “him”.  As it turns out, it is a Brendan Monaghan other than the one who has appeared with Celtic Thunder, which did not bother me at all because I discovered a singer I did not know about.  I found it very interesting that after I friended him, he started getting a lot of friends, and he now has over 3000 of you.  But when I read some of the messages written to him, I realize that some of you still think he is the Brendan that appears in Phil Coulter’s band that travels with Celtic Thunder.  So this is meant to introduce you to this “other” Brendan, who is rightfully very well worth knowing about.

He attended St. Columbanus’ College, and is from Bangor, County Down.  He describes his material as Celtic/pop, and says he likes all kinds of music.  He has performed all over the world.

His releases include “precious time”, “no more words”, “look no further”, and “flicker of hope”, his latest release.  He writes for other musicians.  He appears with a fellow musician named Niall McClean who plays fiddle and whistles.  He is founder of the band “Cattle Company”, which is apparently on hold while he pursues his solo career.

His upcoming appearances include three performances in June at Fiddler’s Green in Portaferry, and one performance at St. Finian’s Fun Day in Newtownards.  He has scheduled two shows in July, three shows in September, all in Switzerland, is back in Bangor in November, and will be in Poland in December.

For more information, and to listen to some of his music, he has a website at brendanmonaghan.com, along with his presence in Facebook.  Give him a listen – I think you will find that even if he isn’t the one some of you think he is, he is very worth while to have as both a musician and a friend.

Carol

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

