Furness Scotland


To the person who asked if there was a place in Scotland named Furness, not that I know about.  But since this question relates to my blog about Local Hero, in the movie, the place they call Furness is actually a bit of coastline along the upper Western edge of Scotland, on The Minch.  But the place that was used for Furness in the movie was three places:  Pennan, on the North Sea; Morar, across the Sound of Sleat which separates Skye from mainland Scotland, and Banff, which is where the real caileidh was held, again on the North Sea, just west of Pennan.

For questions like this, where I do not know who is asking the question, please ask me on FaceBook, or go to my own personal email address c.stepp@mail.utexas.edu.

Carol

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Other media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

