Mamma Mia, and Abba


I’m adding another comment today, February 29, 2012.

I have watched this movie any number of times, most recently because Meryl won an Oscar, not for this movie, of course, but an Oscar, and I remember I did not care for Pierce Brosnan’s voice when I first wrote it.  I have to make the comment now that watching the movie several times has changed that.  His voice has grown on me, a lot.  I have to agree with Phillida Lloyd, the director, that he has that sort of husky quality to it that aging rock stars have, and since I am an aging rock star groupie, it really has come forth to take me by the throat.  This movie most definitely ages well.

Carol

Another blog brought over from MySpace, for I hope a wider audience.  I love the music of Abba – I think most people did.  This was a group that set out to accomplish something in a limited amount of time, which they did, and while the ladies have pretty much retired, Bjorn and Benny went on to bigger things.  Including this show which they built around the music of Abba.  Certainly Abba’s influence is still out in the world – at least one well-known group from Australia is keeping things going on their music, and I know there are many more people, and perhaps musical groups, that also keep Abba’s music alive.  Anyway, this is what I wrote in February about the movie Mamma Mia.

Subject : Mamma Mia!

Posted Date: : Feb 7, 2011 8:09 AM

I have seen the movie Mamma Mia twice in the last few days.  Holy cow!  What a terrific show.

Now don’t get me wrong.  The story line was a bit silly, although I loved the premise, having chosen to stay single, yet giving birth to a daughter.  So I got it, though I do know who the father is of my child.  And Pierce Brosnan cannot sing a lick, though I was surprised at how good Colin Firth is.

But it was the music.  Abba was, and is, one of my favourite musical groups of all time, and even if they got their five years in, broke up the circle, and made a lot of money, Bjorn and Benny (and Stig) put together a wonderful movie that followed Abba’s music beautifully.

My fave song of the whole catalogue is When All Is Said and Done; my fave song as used in the movie was split between Mamma Mia (and all the earthy women dropping everything and dancing on the pier) and Does Your Mother Know.  Christine Baranski can really sing, and dance, and I loved that she played up her “older woman” qualities (like falling boobs, and letting us know that she was still interested in sex, but not with that child).

Lone live the franchise!  Bravo Bjorn and Benny (and Stig).

Carol Stepp

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music, Other media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

