Samantha Link


Some months ago, Alicia introduced me to this beautiful soprano named Samantha Link.  I listened, liked what I heard, and added her as a friend.  Then as time went on, I heard more and more of her, and every time I listened to a song, I liked her just a little bit better, and today, I think she is about the finest soprano I have ever heard, at least outside of a group.  There are others, I’ll admit, that I like, but Samantha just sort of caught my ear, and eye.  Because she is as lovely as her voice is beautiful.

Samantha was born in Wales, and lives in Caerphilly, which I also know as a place with a beautiful ancient castle.  I wrote and asked if she spoke Welsh, but she said she did not, although she has sung in Welsh.  She has a daughter named Scarlett, who seems to have appeared in a television show when she was a baby.  I remember one of her posts when she was going somewhere to sing, I think it was Italy, and I was struck by the thought that she was looking forward to it with both pleasure, and with mixed feelings.  The mixed feelings apparently were because she did not want to leave her daughter behind.  I thought, how very human and caring of her.  I have found that Samantha seems to be one of the most reachable, at least by Facebook, of any singer I have ever know.

(An aside.  Her daughter is named Scarlett, she wears a lot of red; that is something I appreciate very much, red being my fave colour, behind purple, and the arcane meaning of red means life, love, happiness.)

Samantha is a graduate of the London School of Music, and is a freelance singer and performer.  She has studied musical theatre  in London.  I have had some information on her from her Facebook page, and I encourage everyone to look her up, friend her, and follow her.  She is well worth it.

I have uploaded three videos of songs I particularly like.  Have a listen – I think you will like her as well.

What a voice. What a song.

www.youtube.com

This is the song that made Susan Boyle famous, and is from Les Miserables.

www.youtube.com

This is a song I have always loved, and Samantha does an exemplary job with it.

One of my fave songs from Les Mis, from one of my newest fave female singers.
And this song, I Dreamed a Dream, is for all of you who have ever loved where it was not reciprocated.  Originally sung by Lea Salonga in Les Miserables, Samantha does a very lovely, and credible, version of the song.
Carol
About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

