Tommy Fleming


I wrote this blog about six months ago on MySpace, and have moved it here to wordpress, and edited it to bring it up to date.

Tommy has always been one of my most fave of all Irish tenors, and while I am now a big fan of Paul Byrom, and several groups of tenor singers, I wanted to get this written here, where more people might read it.  I am very pleased that Tommy is gaining more and more fans all the time.  I hope this means that his music will be easier to find in music stores.  He deserves all the recognition he gets.

I have posted the YouTube site for Tommy’s Hard Times at the end of this blog.

Carol

Subject : Tommy Fleming

Posted Date: : Dec 8, 2010 9:35 AM

I have been noticing lately on FaceBook that Tommy Fleming, the singer once with De Danaan, and a solo singer for several years (and under Phil Coulter’s wings at times) is getting more and more friends.  I hope I have had a part in that, due to a much earlier blog I wrote about him (along with Renee Fleming, titled Fleming the Way).  But Tommy’s talent has nothing to do with me, other than I want to shout it to the rooftops.

Between Alicia Coller and me, I think you have probably heard enough about Tommy that many of you have become fans.  He has many gorgeous songs, some of which you have heard from many other singers as well, but my fave from him is still Hard Times.  I love the song, I love the version DeDanaan did with several of their former soloists (Mary Black, Eleanor Shanley, Moira McConnell), and I think Tommy’s single is simply one of the best things he has ever done.

Tommy Fleming has one of the most pure Irish tenor voices that is not operatic that I have ever heard, and he uses that voice gloriously.  Hard to believe that he came back from a life-threatening care wreck where he got his neck broken.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX
Best of Tommy, in spite of all his great new stuff.

www.youtube.com

Hard Times – Tommy Fleming – from the Voice Of Hope DVD Recorded at Knock Basilica. Buy the DVD here – http://tommyfleming.net/index.php?option=com_content&t
About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

