Blaggards


I wrote this blog back in January, so it is just slightly out of date.  Since I wrote it, Blaggards has made a tour or two, and have been back in Austin.  Unfortunately, with a limited income, and no car, I have not been back to see them.  But I still follow them on Facebook and MySpace (when I can get to MySpace).  But I wanted to move the old blog, with the basic information, to WordPress where it will reach out to more people.

I repeat, check them out.

Carol

At Fado’s, Austin, TX

www.youtube.com

The Blaggards Play Whiskey in the Jar at Fados Irish Pub in Austin, TX. http://www.myspace.com/blaggards blaggards.com

Subject : Blaggards

Posted Date: : Jan 21, 2011 9:13 AM

Blaggard:  noun, a word that is an elision of Black Guard; an archaic word meaning pirate, ruffian, roue – a just altogether bad sort of person; it is also is the name of a terrific Celtic Rock band from Houston, TX, who are lively, fun, good-looking, energetic, and play just a wonderful lot of music.  And I don’t think there is a black guard among them.

They play in Austin, at Fado’s, often, and are well-known in the Houston area.

They play a great variety of Celtic music, in a very energetic style.  The group consists of Patrick Devlin, vocals and guitar; Chad Smalley, bass and vocals;. Brandi Belle Clarke, fiddles, and Michael McAloon, drums.  Brandi is new to me, having just joined the band the beginning of this year, since getting her degree.

Patrick was raised in Dublin, Ireland, but moved to Houston when he was in his early 20s.  He formed two bands there; first On The Dole, a band that often opened for groups like Wolfe Tones, but in 2003, he met Chad Smalley, and they put together the band now called Blaggards (no “the” at the beginning).

Give them a listen.  They are well-worth seeing, and a lot of fun.  I love their interaction with the audience, and I had a lot of fun joking with them when I saw them live at Fado’s last fall.  They will be at Fado’s again soon.  Their website lists all of the “gigs” they play around Houston and Austin, and elsewhere, and I would love to see them become so popular that they are called on to play in a much wider area.

Check them out.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

