Ronan Keating


A long time ago, I saw a show on PBS for Andrew Lloyd Webber’s 50th birthday party.  On that show, I discovered the band Boyzone (and Michael Ball, for that), and when Boyzone sang When You Say Nothing At All, while I did like the lead singer’s voice, I really did like the blonde singer’s voice best.  Stronger, just more to my liking.

Some years later, I saw the movie Notting Hill.  Now Richard Curtis, who wrote and directed Notting Hill (as well as Love Actually) used Boyzone’s recording of this song as one of the end-title songs, and once again I noticed the blonde’s voice above all the others.

Not too long ago, through the influence of a friend of mine, Alicia, I added a singer called Ronan Keating to my list of musician friends.  I don’t even know if I listened to his voice first – I just know Alicia has never lead me wrong.  If I “friended” everyone she has listed, I would probably have so many “friends” I’d never keep them straight.

But, back to Ronan, I just found out, because of a YouTube video making the rounds of that very song, When You Say Nothing At All, by Ronan Keating, that this is that very blonde lad that so impressed me before.  I don’t know if this is serendipity or not, but I sure appreciate getting this information.

Since giving up on promotion for Celtic Thunder, I have been wanting another musician, or group of musicians, to promote.  Now I have a lot of musicians that I really like, but for me to spend time on any individual musician, or group, they have to really grab me.  I have tried it with Celtic Crossroads, and Blaggards, and a couple more, all of which I have written blogs about, and plan to transfer to this new blog site (new to me).  I do not know yet if I am going to spend the same amount of time with Ronan as I did with CT, but I definitely think he is well worth promoting.  I need to learn more about him – at the moment all I know is that he is currently living in Australia, but other than that, I have no information yet.  Anyway, give him a listen, and let me know what you think.  And Ronan, if you read this, let me know if you would like to have my support through Internet postings.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

