Grammy Salute to the Beatles


Yesterday, I finally watched the show which was aired on February 9, 2014, The Grammy Salute to the Beatles. I had taped it because the Olympics were on that night, and I always watch the Olympics.

My first thrill was seeing Danny Harrison playing guitar with some of the musical artists. He looks so much like his dad, especially in profile. Absolutely thrilling, and George was my favourite Beatle.

I was 23 when the Beatles came to America. I had been a country-western fan for several years during my days in Las Vegas, NV prior to this show. I had been a huge fan of rock and roll when it began in 1954, but because I lived in a very religious family, I was not allowed to dance, or to attend things that would have given me more exposure other than the radio. So when I moved to Las Vegas, and got involved in a dude ranch, the Day Dream Guest Ranch, I worked among cowboys and horses, even joined two Horse Riding organizations, Paradise Valley Horseman’s Association, and Nevada State Horseman’s Association, and, of course, was around country music. I even sang with a small local (not famous) country-western band, and was in the way of meeting quite a few of the country-western artists of the day.

So it was not until I left Nevada in April, 1964, that I got out of that influence, and in 1965, really got into the whole British Invasion, dancing, running a merchant seamen’s bar in Corpus Christi, TX. By that time, the Beatles, the Stones, the Dave Clark V, the Animals, and many, many more musicians caught my ear. I had heard much of the music already, but it wasn’t until I got into the wild side of life in CC that the music started living in my soul.

The Beatles were a huge part of that life, of course, even though I had faves within other bands, including a few that died early, like Brian Jones. But the Beatles definitely represented the feeling of the day, and the craziness of those times.

So many of the artists in this salute were so very good. I had not known much about Maroon 5, but Adam Levine was exceptional. So were Annie Lennox, Keith Urban, and Joe Walsh. I did not care for Katie Perry, but I just haven’t much liked her anyway, so her rendition of Yesterday was better than I expected.

I know only Yoko Ono and Olivia Harrison were introduced from the audience, but I saw several of Paul’s children, Julian Lennon, and what were probably grandchildren. I don’t know if Ringo had any children. I never heard, and have never looked it up. His wife, Barbara Bach, looked good, as did Paul’s wife. It is just so sad that Linda was not still alive with him, because she was his greatest love (although I always thought he should have ended up with Jane Asher all those years ago).

Julian Lennon did not appear. He said it would be like clapping hands to a Karaoke performance of Beatles music.

I could have done without all the shots on Yoko Ono dancing out in front of everyone, but her things was always to be in the spotlight. I also missed the song Imagine, but, of course, it didn’t belong in the show because John did that long after the Beatles broke up and he went out on his own.

Philosophically, I felt my age, yet at the same time, I felt young again. The Beatles were not a band in the world for more than about 2-3 years, though they came together a couple of times after the official break up. It is amazing to me to know that 100 years from now, the Beatles will still be remembered, and their music will still stand up to time. Who else can claim that distinction – at least in rock/pop music. The Stones keep touring because they want to keep their music up. Frank Sinatra is the only other musician who has stood in my thoughts long after his career ended and he retired.

I was angered when John was shot. How dare any person believe themselves the one to take out a man who was loved by so many. John was more important to me after not being a Beatle than when he was a Beatle, but I will always believe in his influence as a Beatle.

Yes, I have several of the Beatles’ releases on CD. I had all of their records at one time, but the records went the way of record players, sold in garage sales and such, over a period of time. Sometimes we think we have outgrown something when in reality we find out we didn’t. I don’t buy much music these days, because I have so much already. I have other music on CD from those days, but the Beatles (and Bob Dylan) are the ones I play when I want to listen to some 60s music.

All in all, it was a wonderful show, and great tribute, and I could feel the love in that room coming through my TV set. Paul doesn’t seem to be losing his voice, though it seemed he had to strain a bit. Ringo, who is several months older than I am, though, didn’t seem to have lost any of his liveliness, and his voice is even a bit better than it was back in the day. Yellow Submarine and I Get By With a Little Help from my Friends were both especially exciting and fun. The finale of Hey Jude was just fantastic, with all those singers and musicians out on the stage, and I loved that Annie was wearing her HIV Positive shirt on stage.

I will never say goodbye to the Beatles to my dying day. They will live forever in my heart and soul, and I hope to see more of Danny.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music, personal thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grammy Salute to the Beatles

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already ;) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

